Skip to content skip to secondary navigation



The nominees for the 2017 Gsport Awards were announced on Monday and Wheelchair Tennis South Africa (WTSA) are elated to be nominated in four categories dominating the 2017 #gsport12 list once again.

The awards are aimed at celebrating and honouring South African women in sport.

The Federation has made the shortlist of finalists in four categories with the three-time Swiss Open champion and women’s world number 8 Kgothatso Montjane nominated for the Athlete of the year with disability, the award she captured in 2012, 2013 and 2016.

The 31-year-old Montjane can boost a successful year in 2016/17 capturing two singles titles including the Prague Open title and five doubles titles (Including the US Open Super Series doubles crown). The country’s leading women’s player who was born with a congenital birth defect - single amputation below the knee holds 39 singles titles and 48 doubles titles.

Montjane will contest the category this year with 5 000m T11 world record holder, Louzanne Coetzee and double Rio Paralympic silver medallist, Ilse Hayes.

Wheelchair tennis rising star Nokwanda Hlongwane, who was hugely honored in last year’s event taking home two awards, Junior Athlete of the year and School Sports Star of the year was nominated alongside SA’s top ranked junior golfer, Kajal Mistry and Momentum Proteas opening batter, Laura Wolvaardt for the School Star award.

South African top junior Asive Gilifile, ranked number 7 globally in the girls under 18 who reached the Gauteng Open finals and semi-final at the SA Open and Bloem Open was nominated for the emerging athlete of the year. The 17-year old will battle it out against Kajal Mistry and South African racing cyclist Heidi Dalton.

Wheelchair Tennis South Africa completed the list cracking the nod once again as the finalist for the federation of the year. The federation boast one of the most successful wheelchair tennis programme globally, with over 50 active centres across the country catering for 500 plus players on a weekly basis. WTSA was crowned the federation of the year award in 2016 and this year they will be up against Cricket South Africa and Athletics South Africa.

Voting is open until August 7 to decide the Public Vote, which acts as the fifth judge in the process. The public vote is combined with the votes of the four-member gsport judging panel, to decide the overall winners. Votes can be cast at

Winners will be announced at the 2017 gsport Awards on August 26, 2017 in Johannesburg.

For more information please contact Anthony Moruthane 082 382 0850 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or please visit: