Skip to content skip to secondary navigation


Sithole and Montjane off to the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters

Lucas Sithole and Kgothatso Montjane are off to the season ending NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters where the world's top singles players will compete for the most coveted title and trophy. The 2014 NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters will be held from 26-30 November at Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre in Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, London, the venue for the London 2012 Paralympic Tennis Event.

The top eight men's singles and women's singles players and the top four quad singles players at the ranking cut-off date of 6 October qualify for the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters.

South Africa's Kgothatso Montjane, is ready, relaxed and looking forward to the event. She reached the quarterfinals of her last tournament; the Open de la Baie Somme in October in France.

SA's no.1 in the quad's division Lucas Sithole is focused and determined to regain his world no.2 ranking. Andy Lapthorne (GBR) moved into this spot after winning the US Open quad's singles title in September.

Both Montjane and Sithole will be competing in the Nottingham Indoor tournament, an ITF level 1 event, prior to the NEC Masters.

WTSA's Director and Coach Holger Losch said: "KG and Lucas are well rested and determined to do well at the upcoming NEC Masters. We would like to wish them both all the best. They are extremely talented athletes who loves playing the game."

The NEC Masters Tournament

This tournament is played in a round robin format, much like the ATP World Tour Finals and WTA Championships and guarantees a player must face at least four of the top eight players in the world to gain the title.

The NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters was initiated in 1994 to honour the top players who have shown dedication and professionalism to the sport, and it has fast became the most coveted trophy amongst the top players.

Past Champions

Year Men Women Quads
2013 Shingo Kunieda (JPN) Yui Kamiji (JPN) David Wagner (USA)
2012 Shingo Kunieda (JPN) Jiske Griffioen (NED) David Wagner (USA)
2011 Stephane Houdet (FRA) Esther Vergeer (NED) Noam Gershony (ISR)
2010 Stefan Olsson (SWE) Esther Vergeer (NED) Peter Norfolk (GBR)
2009 Maikel Scheffers (NED) Esther Vergeer (NED) Peter Norfolk (GBR)
2008 Stefan Olsson (SWE) Esther Vergeer (NED) David Wagner (USA)
2007 Robin Ammerlaan (NED) Esther Vergeer (NED) David Wagner (USA)
2006 Robin Ammerlaan (NED) Esther Vergeer (NED) Peter Norfolk (GBR)
2005 Robin Ammerlaan (NED) Esther Vergeer (NED) David Wagner (USA)
2004 David Hall (AUS) Esther Vergeer (NED) David Wagner (USA)
2003 Robin Ammerlaan (NED) Esther Vergeer (NED)
2002 David Hall (AUS) Esther Vergeer (NED)
2001 Ricky Molier (NED) Esther Vergeer (NED)
2000 Robin Ammerlaan (NED) Esther Vergeer (NED)
1999 Robin Ammerlaan (NED) Esther Vergeer (NED)
1998 Ricky Molier (NED) Esther Vergeer (NED)
1997 Kai Schrameyer (GER) Maaike Smit (NED)
1996 Stephen Welch (USA) Chantal Vandierendonck (NED)
1995 Laurent Giammartini (FRA) Monique Kalkman (NED)
1994 Randy Snow (USA) Monique Kalkman (NED)

NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters Entries
Rankings and ranking points totals as at 6 October 2014

Men's Entries
Ranking Position Name Country Points Ranked Events
1 KUNIEDA, Shingo JPN 7350 9
2 HOUDET, Stephane FRA 4755 9
3 REID, Gordon GBR 4132 9
4 FERNANDEZ, Gustavo ARG 3692 9
5 GERARD, Joachim BEL 2620 9
6 SCHEFFERS, Maikel NED 2366 9
7 PEIFER, Nicolas FRA 2154 9
9 SANADA, Takashi JPN 2009 9
Women's Entries
Ranking Position Name Country Points Ranked Events
1 KAMIJI, Yui JPN 5918 8
2 GRIFFIOEN, Jiske NED 4093 8
3 VAN KOOT, Aniek NED 3652 8
4 ELLERBROCK, Sabine GER 3511 8
5 BUIS, Marjolein NED 2438 8
6 WHILEY, Jordanne GBR 2078 8
7 WALRAVEN, Sharon NED 1698 8
8 MONTJANE, Kgothatso RSA 1455 8
Quad Entries
Ranking Position Name Country Points Ranked Events
1 WAGNER, David USA 5393 7
2 LAPTHORNE, Andy GBR 3663 7
3 SITHOLE, Lucas RSA 3616 7
4 ALCOTT, Dylan AUS 3005 7

Wheelchair Tennis South Africa and Airports Company South Africa Partnership:

Airports Company South Africa is the official sponsor of Wheelchair Tennis South Africa. The company is committed to a continued investment in the sport as its flagship Corporate Social Investment programme and through this partnership we wish to produce more champions like Lucas and Kgothatso ahead of the 2016 Paralympic Games. Airports Company South Africa would like to encourage more young people to be inspired by Lucas's and Kgothatso's achievement and get involved in the sport.

For more information, please contact Bianca Morkel Tel: 083 386 4002 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . Other resources worth a visit include:; or join our Facebook page and group: Wheelchair Tennis SA and follow us on Twitter: @WCTennis.