Skip to content skip to secondary navigation


Wheelchair Tennis South Africa coach honoured ITF Coach of the Year


At the recent prestigious BNP Paribas World Team Cup that was held in Antalya, Turkey 20 – 26 May 2013; Wheelchair Tennis South Africa's coach Holger Losch was honoured with the ITF Coach of the year 2013 award. The Coach of the Year Award is presented to the coach who is considered to have made a substantial contribution to the development of wheelchair tennis and players both nationally and internationally.

Honoured coach Holger Losch and compatriot coach Craig Fairall are also representatives on the ITF International Wheelchair Tennis Coaches Commision. This is the first time a coach from South Africa has been awarded this honour. The Award, presented by the ITF Wheelchair Tennis Committee, was presented for the first time in 2004, with Dutch National Coach Aad Zwaan winning the inaugural Award.

  • 2012 - Holger Losch (RSA)
  • 2011 - Dan James (USA)
  • 2010 – Toni Gustavsson (SWE)
  • 2009 – Geraint Richards (GBR)
  • 2008 – Jason Harnett (USA)
  • 2007 – Dan James (USA)
  • 2006 – Severine Tamborero (CAN)
  • 2005 – David Sanz (ESP)
  • 2004 – Aad Zwaan (NED)

WTSA's Coach Holger Losch said "It is an honour to be recognised and I thank all the players and staff both nationally and internationally for the privilege and acknowledgement. South Africa in particular has tremendous talent and potential to grow the sport of wheelchair tennis and I am looking forward to an exciting and successful future."

Participation in local and international tournaments such as these is made possible by a generous sponsorship by Airports Company South Africa, the game sponsor of the sport.

For more information, please contact Bianca MorkelTel: 083 386 4002 Fax: 086 651 6664 Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . Other resources worth a visit include:; our Facebook page: WheelchairTennisSA and/or follow us on Twitter: @WCTennis.