Skip to content skip to secondary navigation


WTSA athletes to compete at the ACSA Limpopo open 25 – 29 June 2012

The Airports Company South Africa Limpopo Open, which is sanctioned by the International Tennis Federation (ITF) and forms part of the ITF World Wheelchair Tennis Tour, takes place from June 25 to June 29 in Polokwane.

The 2011 Winners in the Men’s, Women’s and Quad’s divisions will not be taking part this year, leaving the field wide open for the top young talented South African wheelchair tennis players. Players to watch out for are; in the men’s division South Africa’s no.2 player Sydwell Mathonsi who is no stranger to titles, nor Polokwane and will most likely take on SA’s no.1 Evans Maripa in the finals. These players, both from Limpopo, are evenly matched and both out for the title of SA’s top player. Nyasha Mharakurwa, who has joined the above two players in qualifying for the Paralympics is not to be dismissed. He too has many titles and victories over SA’s two top players, and now more than ever has something to prove.

South Africa’s Golden Girl, Kgothatso Montjane from Limpopo, currently ranked world no. 9, will be taking part in the BNP Paribas French Open; a Super Series event during this time so will not be in Polokwane to defend her title. With KG out of the draw, Rose van der Meer of Pretoria and the rising talent, an eighteen year old from Limpopo, Mabel Mankgele are pipped for the finals.

In the quad’s division, SA’s Star and world no. 7, Lucas Sithole from Kwa-zulu Natal, will be joining Kgothatso Montjane in France for the BNP French Open leaving the 2012 title open for SA’s no.2,3 and 4 players in the quad’s division. We expect a highly contested battle to see who will taste victory between David Mathebula (2), Steven Kekai (3) or newcomer Bongani Dlamini (4).

A total of 69 players will take part in the Airports Company South Africa Limpopo Open. The players will be mostly South African with a few players from Tanzania that will be taking part in the men’s division.

The top ranked South African players that will be competing are:

MEN’s Division: WOMEN’s Division:
Name and Surname SA Rank Name and Surname SA Rank
Evans Maripa 1 Rose van der Meer 3
Sydwell Mathonsi 2 Mabel Mankgele 4
Ishmael Tshipuke 5 Thandeka Dhladhla 7
Thando Hlatswayo 8

QUAD’s Division: JUNIOR’s Division:
Name and Surname SA Rank Name and Surname SA Rank
David Mathebula 2 Gift Lekhanyane 1
Steven Kekai 3 Mariska Venter 3
Bongani Dlamini 4 Sean de Hilster 4
Bonga Mbhele 5

Airports Company South Africa continues to support Wheelchair Tennis South Africa and are delighted to be hosting this event in Polokwane. The tournament gives a golden opportunity for us to showcase our local and upcoming talent. It is aptly placed around youth day, and should produce good performances from the up and coming youngsters.

Participation in local and international tournaments such as these is made possible by the generous sponsorships offered by Airports Company South Africa, the official sponsor of the sport.

Venue: Polokwane Tennis Club
Cnr Rissik & Compensatie Streets
Time: 09h00-16h00 daily

Published by The BLD Group